Statewide Transportation Improvement Fund (STIF) Committee

The State Transportation Improvement Fund (STIF) program was passed by the Oregon legislature in 2017. The STIF funds provide a new dedicated source of funding to expand public transportation to access jobs, improve mobility, relieve congestion and reduce greenhouse gas emissions around Oregon. Hood River County is expected to receive over $1M dollars for transit projects between April 2019 and June 2021.

Hood River County Transportation District (HRCTD or CAT) is the entity in Hood River County who has been designated by the Legislature to develop the County’s STIF plan. HRCTD must work with a committee to select the projects that will make up HRCTD’s 2019-2021 STIF Plan.

Only projects that have been identified and included in an adopted and approved plan may be included in the project list. The Hood River County Transportation District (HRCTD) Transit Master Plan is the approved local plan for Hood River County.

At their September 2018 Board Meeting the HRCTD Board approved committee bylaws and appointed the following individuals to serve on the STIF Committee:

Kevin Liburdy – City of Hood River (Jurisdictional Representative)
Jeff Hecksel – Hood River County (Jurisdictional Representative)
Martha Zapien – The Next Door (Latino & Low-income Representative)
Leticia Valle – CAT Board Member (Latino, Low-Income, Environmental & Public Transit Provider Representative)
Rob Brostoff – Cascade Locks Resident & CAT Board Member (Community & Public Transit Provider Representative)
Kristen Dillon – PacificSource (Low-Income, Seniors & Persons with Disabilities Representative)
Brittany Wilson – Volunteers In Action, Aging in the Gorge ([Seniors & Persons with Disabilities Representative)
Leanne Hogie – CAT Board Member (Public Transit Provider Representative)
Donald Benefield – Hood River Valley School District (Youth Representative)

The Board has also invited four individuals to serve as Ex-officio members of the Committee. Ex-officio members are allowed to participate in the Committee discussion and weigh in on the project list – but they cannot vote:

Kathy Fitzpatrick – Transportation Options Manager, MCEDD
Jessica Metta – The Dalles LINK Director, MCEDD
Fran Finney – Aging in the Gorge
Beth Boyce – CAT Rider (Persons with Disability Representative)
The first STIF Committee was held on October 5, 2018. The second STIF Committee was held on October 11th. The Committee adopted a Recommended & Prioritized Project List and provided a recommended definition of ” high percentage of low-income households” to the Board at their October 17th Meeting.

Based on the Committee’s recommendation the Board passed a formal resolution adopting the FY19-21 STIF Plan and the priority ranked project list to the Committee. Based on this adoption, staff will submit the formal STIF application on or before November 1, 2018.